New Challenge

February 11, 2010 at 5:14 pm Leave a comment

One of the fun things about being an Army Family is that you get to move – a LOT! And, in our case, you get to move all over the place. Every house is a new organizational challenge. This house is no exception. The problem is, as a Lean Six Sigma Black Belt, I really have no excuse other than the children.

One of the fun things about parenting a child with RAD is that they get very defiant on a regular basis. Chores are ignored or not done well and it’s “good enough”. Our RAD kid refuses to accept criticism of any sort or accept responsibility for any of his actions. Ever. Even asking him to do dishes can be a challenge.

So I’ll be taking on a new challenge over the next few days (with! pictures!). I’m going to organize my house by applying Lean Six Sigma Methods – 5S, Visual Controls, etc.

My goal is to spend 60-90 minutes in one area every day on a 5S activity and photograph it when I am done as the visual control piece. The visual controls will hopefully serve as checks for the children on whether their chores are done well enough. If it matches the picture, he’s finished. Wish me Luck! And like always, pray for my sanity.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

RAD in Pictures Other Kinds of Therapy

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Support Keyboard Therapy

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 271 other subscribers