I guess it comes in all shapes and sizes….

October 7, 2011 at 5:56 pm 4 comments

Today the unthinkable happened.

Someone my kids love to play with and consider a close friend, someone I thought was a good kid, said some horrific things to my boys.

He mocked them because they are Asian.  Told them they have “tiny, little Asian penises”.

And then it got worse.  All three of the boys were there, I’m sure he thought he was just being funny.

But what is funny about telling adopted kids their “real parents are dead”?

One thought he was kidding (his friend, the oldest), one wasn’t paying attention (The Emperor), but my sweet Khanatoly LOST. HIS. SHIT.

An eight year old isn’t prepared to shut that kind of thing down so he ran home in a quickalreadyyesterday hurry.  I had no words.  Then I calmed down and reminded him that we are his parents and we’re not dead.  What else could I do?

I have a zero-tolerance policy for racism, bullying and general ignorance.  Obviously this falls into all categories?   How should I handle it?  Talk to the kid?  Talk to the parents?  The Czar was going to talk to the kid.  We will see how that goes.

 

But I still want to punch the little F*cker in the face.  These are my babies you’re being mean to!

 

What words of advice have you got?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What an AWESOME Night! Meditative

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah Cunningham  |  October 7, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    Talk to the parents, after all, he got that shit from somewhere.

    Bryan says to punch the little fucker in the face, though. And why was he concerned about their penises? LOL

    Reply
    • 2. sharplisa  |  October 7, 2011 at 6:04 pm

      I knew I liked that husband of yours for a reason. We will talk to the parents. The Czar is going to talk to his friend too. I haven’t ruled out punching him in the face. If it happens again, I may need bail money.

      Reply
  • 3. Criss  |  October 7, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    For younger kids, we’re there to guard them from hurtful friends. As kids get older, it’s an opportunity to teach them healthy boundaries: that friendship is a gift that not everyone deserves from us. No matter how much fun or cool someone is, if they are abusive I need to respect myself enough to move on.

    It’s not easy, especially for teen girls. You have to love yourself more than the “love” (approval) of others.

    Reply
  • 4. Cindy  |  October 7, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    Lisa had a parent tell me he didn’t see the big thing about bullying, it was around when he was a kid. I told him it was ignorance like his that has allowed it to still be around. It’s hard when you are a parent. Hunter wore a shirt to scoop today that said “fight like a girl” to support Brest cancer month. Some of his fellow 7th graders chose to pick on him about it. As a parent I was upset they chose my son as a target, as a teacher I was appalled by their ignorance and let them no that they were wrong. The good thing is some girls in his class have decided to do a fund raiser to support breast cancer in our area. Today I saw the ugly side of my students and also the beautiful. All I can say is keep up the fight, unfortunately we can only raise our children and not other peoples.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Support Keyboard Therapy

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Twitter says…

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


